skip navigation

16u Northern NAFA Nationals

NAFA Champlin & Coon Rapids MN 16U National Tournament 2023

Dates: July 27-30, 2023

Mandatory Coaches Meeting Wednesday, July 26

120 Teams Max

75 minutes finish the inning

2 umpires per game

5 game guarantee

$700 registration fee payable to NAFA. Gate fee $200 per team used to pay for field rental and field maintenance is paid to Champlin Park Fastpitch before the first game. 

3 pool games will seed teams into 4 brackets (Platinum, Gold, Silver, Bronze) and a minimum of 2 bracket games are guaranteed.

All game results and brackets will be posted online.

Skills competition & Opening Ceremonies will occur on Thursday July 27 at Noble Park.

On behalf of NAFA Softball, Champlin Park Fastpitch, and Coon Rapids Fastpitch, we look forward to hosting your team!

2022 16U Platinum Champions: Midwest Sluggers '05

Tournament Information

Sponsor Information

Local restaurants that can take reservations of 25-plus with 1.5 hour time blocks to host teams. Tell them you're a team with NAFA Nationals.

MC's Tap House, 9690 Colorado Ln N, Brooklyn Park, MN 55445
Chanticlear Pizza Bar & Grill, 11706 Crooked Lake Blvd, Coon Rapids, MN 55433

16 U Hotel Information

Tournament Contacts

Jim Rathe

Midwest NAFA Director / National Tournament Director

Phone: 847-800-5739

Jeff Husom

Site Director

Phone: 763-670-4544

Gaeli Iverson

Champlin Park Fastpitch President

Phone: 612-501-5617

Field Maps

2023 NAFA 16U Northern Nationals

Pool Play: July 27-28, 2023
Bracket Play: July 27-30, 2023

Teams Registered

Number of Teams NAFA REG # Team Name Coach Name Registration
1 IL23-16-40 Windy City Rage Don Kuffel
2 WI23-16-01 Central Wisconsin Edge 15u Jill Pugh
3 IL23-16-39 Lisle Slammers Jim Majnarich
4 New Berlin Magic Tim Bonin
5 WI23-16-10 Poynette Shock Sean Mackey
6 WI23-16-03 Rock River Stix Gransee Kevin Gransee
7 WI23-16-06 Rock River Stix Mack Scott Mack
8 WI23-16-20 Plover Nationals 15U Corey Giese
9 Madison Revolution Tracy Rank
10 WI23-16-16 Velocity Green Bay Kerry Danforth
11 WI23-16-07 Wisco Warriors Scott Vest
12 WI23-16-05 Milwaukee Angels Josh Karls
13 WI23-16-19 Wisconsin Bandits Buechel David Buechel
14 Dawgs Fastpitch Chris Kock
15 Rhino Wisconsin Rich Camps
16 IL23-16-23 Kishwaukee Valley Storm Christian Dierschow
17 WI23-16-22 ESA 16U Futures Matt Caravella
18 (Pending) Wausau WildFire Jaime Hughes
19 Wisconsin Redbirds Grey Jess Hovorka
20 WI23-16-23 West Bend Lightning Cory Reichenberger
21 IL23-16-30 SYCOS Dan Rivera
22 IL23-16-42 Thunderstix 16U Jon Beach
23 (Pending) MN Elite Draughn Dennis Draughn
24 IL23-16-04 Oswego Outlaws 16U Mike DiTella
25 WI23-16-15 WI Fear Fastpitch Ryan Hermus
26 MN23-16-05 Midwest Speed Wigley Josh Wigley
27 WI23-16-27 Wisconsin Bandits Laabs Dan Laabs
28 WI23-16-26 Force Fastpitch John Walker
29 (Pending) MN Elite Goetz Julia Goetz
30 (Pending) MN Elite Prantner Gary Prantner
31 MN23-16-06 Midwest Speed Gold Loftus Tony Loftus
32 IL23-16-27 Northern ICE Black Maureen Galazkiewicz
33 WI23-16-28 Burlington BLAST Ben Biedrzycki
34 WI23-16-24 Mississippi Valley Pride Blue Mesa Heit
35 WI23-16-25 Mississippi Valley Pride White Mesa Heit
36 Woodbury Royals 16U Cory Mundahl
37 (Pending) MN Elite Heinecke Tom Heinecke
38 (Pending) Warren Wave DL Dave Lyons
39 IL23-16-29 Stateline Fury Futures 15u Brandon Smith
40 WI23-16-29 Northwest Lightning Shane Marino
41 MN23-16-04 Clutch Hitters Deming Kate Deming
42 MN23-16-11 St. Croix Boom 16U Lauren Anderson
43 MN23-16-07 Clutch Hitters Romero Savannah Romero
44 (Pending) MN CHAOS Johnson Chris Johnson
45 (Pending) MN CHAOS Schneider Dan Schneider
46 (Pending) Mankato Peppers Bobby Krista Bobby
47 (Pending) Rawlings Tigers Orange Kaleigh O'Brien
48 (Pending) Wisconsin Outlawz Black Brett Weisensel
49 (Pending) MN Elite Gormley Tim Gormley
50 MN Elks 16U Roman Becker
51 MN23-16-12 Cannon Valley Renegades 16U Anne Fossum
52 (Pending) Minnesota Stix Jaimi Stejskal
53 IL23-16-11 Lady Reds Chuck Tomblinson
54 MN23-16-10 Midwest Speed Walsh Crista Walsh
55 SD23-16-01 Hot Shots Fastpitch Eric Kunzweiler
56 MN23-16-01 MN ICE 16u Gold Ly Tien Ly
57 MN23-16-02 MN ICE 16U Gold Bacon Andy Bacon
58 MN23-16-03 MN ICE 16U Headding Jason Headding
59 IL23-16-41 Stingers Nicole Pieper
60 MN SnoCatz 16U National Abbey Herbert
61 Nebraska Gold 309 Josh Starkweather
62 Clutch Hitters Keller Matt Keller

2022 NAFA Northern Nationals 16U Results


1st - Midwest Sluggers '05, 2nd - Brookings Outlaws Kratz, 3rd - Badger Blitz Birling, 4th - Goodview Sandlot

1st - Park Ridge Pistols, 2nd - Caledonia Chaos Kimble, 3rd - Central Wisconsin Edge, 4th - MN SnoCatz Black

1st - Owatonna Crush, 2nd - Clutch Hitters Jensen, 3rd - Seymour Flames Black, 4th - Rock River Stix Gransee

1st - MN Moose White, 2nd - MN ICE Ludden, 3rd - Mendota Heights Gold, 4th - MN Moose Blue,

Consolation Champions: Janesville Cyclones
Consolation Runner-Up: Stingers RL

Skills Competition Results

Winners can come to Noble Sports Park to collect their prize! Congratulations to all the teams and competitors!!!

Home Run Derby
1st Place: 7 Home Runs - MN Whirl 16u Gold, Ava F
2nd Place: Fusion Synergy, Carly F
Throwing for Accuracy
1st Place: MN Blast 16u, Jill A
2nd Place: Janesville Cyclones, Brynn S
3rd Place: MN Whirl 16u Gold, Maggie W
Around the Horn
1st Place: MN Blast 16u, Taylor, Brooklyn, Emily, Carly, Brooke, Maddie
2nd Place: Central WI Edge, Nolita, Emma, Caina, Katja, Makala, Erin
3rd Place: Fusion Synergy, Izzy, Macey, Zoe, Kaylie, Kylie, Greta 
Speed Around the Bases
1st Place: SE Flyers, Desirae, Brit, Kyllee, Olivia
2nd Place: Caledonia Chaos, Kenzie, Aalana, Bella, Abby 
3rd Place: Mississippi Valley Pride, Marlee, Kaitlyn, Halenel, Emma